Latest News & Info

Ardscoil Mhuire Awards 2016

This year’s awards were presented by Dr. Aideen Ryan a former pupil of Ardscoil Mhuire and presently a postdoctoral Researcher in Immunology. Dr. Ryan’s work involves investigating the potential of our own immune system to combat certain cancer cells and her pioneering work in the study of bowel cancer saw her awarded the prestigious European Association for Cancer Research (EACR) Young Investigator Award in 2015.

Dr Ryan urged the student cohort to follow their dreams. She recounted her own journey through education and talked about the importance of adaptability and resilience when faced with obstacles along the way. She talked warmly about the support she received from her parents and underlined her message with the necessity of working hard in order to achieve goals and ambitions.

Dr. Ryan congratulated all the recipients and reminded them to be proud of their achievements.

The Bank of Ireland Leaving Cert Student of the Year was awarded to Lorraine Kenny who was praised for her sporting prowess and musical ability. This popular winner was described by her peers as warm, caring and friendly and by her teachers as polite, gracious and respectful.  Lorraine was presented with her award by Ms. Mary O’ Flaherty, representing the Bank Of Ireland.The Bank of Ireland also donated a cheque for €500 to the school development fund.

Lorraine also received a Michael Kors pendant from the school to commemorate her achievement.

Malvina Janik from T.Y. was the worthy recipient of both the green school award and the Realt award this year.

The beautiful school choir reminded us that music beats at the centre of Ardscoil Mhuire. Clare Callaghan was recognized as an excellent musician and Kylie Dunican was marked out as an active and talented participant in all  aspects of music in A.S.M. The Bernie Nash Irish Traditional Music Perpetual award  honoured the talents of Jane Corbett.

This year the CEIST award  was given to Chloe Dreaper-Eyre who was described as “ A wonderful role model for her peers.”

The athleticism and talents of our students was recognised in the myriad of Sports Awards presented this year. Sarah Dooley, Jane Corbett and Becky Gilchrist  received this year’s camogie accolades while Katie Naughton, Leah Clogher , Bríd Kilroy and Lauren Maloney were recognised for their contribution to basketball.

Gaelic Football recognised the contribution of Michaela Keogh, Lauren Dolan and especially the huge contribution of senior player Jade Ward throughout her footballing career in the school.

The Volleyball awards went to Kate Tierney, Bebhinn  Parsons, Daria Bednarska , Lauren Gavin and Megan Flannery.and Rachel Tierney received this year’s Rugby International soccer player Heather Payne was a deserving winner of the Soccer Award this year and our  growing strengths in Cross country and Athletics was honoured with awards going to Hilary Bleahen and Rachel Black.

Lorraine Kenny also received the Mary Casey PE perpetual trophy.

Clare Callaghan and Megan Devlin –Larsen were honoured for their Artistic creativity and passion for Art in general.

The winners of this year’s academic awards were Leah Hogarty, Aoife Castle, Rachel White and Abby Downey from First year, Melanie Markham, Maria Colohan, Leah Clogher, Michaela Keogh and Anna Kelly, Second Year. Saoirse Ní Thuairisg, Maeve Glennon, Aoife Dudgeon, Emer Costello, Alannah Downey and Ciara Hibbitt, Third Year and Jennifer Kelly, Sined Kearns, Alana Donellan, Joanne Murray and Aoife Hibbitt, Fifth Year. Cassandra Maloney received the L.C.A. award this year.

Sinead Clayton won the Fetac Award.

Finally our Cara Award winners were Alana Mulry, Mary Brody, Mary Cuddy, Tara Moran, Kelly McGuire and Joanne Murray.