Ardscoil Mhuire Awards 2018

The culmination of another very successful year was celebrated in our Awards Day on Monday 21st May. Our school community came together to celebrate academic success, sporting endeavour, friendship and extra-curricular participation. The Awards were presented by past student, Edel Kelly, PhD, Researcher and Lecturer in UCD School of Agriculture and Food Science and the Michael Smurfit Business School. Edel encouraged our students to develop their personal relationship skills as well as their academic skills. In this age of technology and the emerging use of artificial intelligence, the personal skills of human interaction are more important than ever, she explained. She told our students that they are living in a very exciting time, with their whole lives ahead of them and to enjoy this time. She reminisced that she really enjoyed her time in secondary school and wished all our students well.

Our ceremony began with honouring a group of students who have achieved full attendance this year as well as the students who were members of the Green Schools committee this year. Our senior German Debating Team, Senior Irish Debating Team, Junior English Debating Teams were all acknowledged for their dedication and commitment to debating during this year.

Academic awards acknowledge aptitude and ability in all subjects in each class. The following students, 1A Ruth Dolan, 1B Ava Mulry, 1C Ava McKeon and Caoimhe Ni Thuairisg and 1D Ella Scanlon. 2A Kate Malone and Ashlinn Clifford 2B Ceanna Bolton and 2C Emer Fahy.  3rd Years Abby Downey, Aoife Castle, Rachel Whyte and Leah Hogarty, 5th Years Alannah Downey, Saoirse Ni Thuairisg, Aoife Sidaway and Aoife Dudgeon were presented with awards.  Science Awards went to the winners of the Sci Fest competition in 1st year. The overall winner was Leona Donnellan.

The Realt Award, which acknowledges a star pupil, who has progressed in her studies despite enduring difficulties, was presented to Majida Sawan, 2nd year.

CARA awards were presented to students from each year group. The Cara award is chosen by their peers to acknowledge the student who is a good friend to all in the year group. 1st Year went to Chloe Costello, 2nd Year to Martina Florek, 3rd Year to Abby Brogan, QQI to Caoimha Miller, TY to Alice Duncan, 5th Year Niamh Kenny and LCA2, Niamh Morgan. The QQI Class Award went to Kathleen Marie Ward for her dedication to her work.

A large group of students were honoured for their participation in the many sports available in our school.  The Athletics Award went to 1st Year Ava McKeon. The Rugby Awards went to Ruth Manning and Sarah Dent.  Camogie awards were presented to 1st year Aisling Conlon, Minor Camogie to Sarah Lyons, Junior Camogie to Saoirse Ni Thuairisg and Senior Camogie Award to Jane Corbett. Gaelic Football awards were presented to U14 Sophie Cunningham, Junior, Michaela Keogh and the Senior Gaelic Award went to Aine Galvin. Basketball Awards were presented to 1st year Caitlin Malone, 2nd Year Katie Malone, 3rd year Katie Naughton, Senior Basketball Award, Saoirse Ni Thuairisg. Volleyball winners were, 1st year Emily Hanlon, 2nd Year Martina Florek, Cadet, Katie Naughton and Senior to Emily Gavin

The Mary Casey Perpetual PE awards, which honours the memory of Mary, was presented to Leah Clogher TY for her participation in PE and her support of extra-curricular activities in the PE department during the year.

Aoibheann Reilly 5th year, Maebh Deely 5th year and Beibheann Parsons TY were given a special award for their outstanding achievements in Rugby this year in their participation on the National Sevens U17 and U18 teams that won Gold and Bronze in International competitions this year.

A special Soccer Award was presented to Heather Payne for her achievements in Soccer on the Irish senior team.

A number of students were recognised for their outstanding contribution to Music and Art in our school. Creativity Awards went to Abbie Hynes and Malvina Janik, 6th year. A number of Leaving Certs were awarded Certs for their outstanding contribution to the Trad group and the choir in our school over the past six years. Music Awards were awarded to Ciara Smyth, Sarah Fletcher, Kate Kelly, Laura Finn and Jane Corbett. The Bernie Nash Trad Music Award went to Brianna Rice 6th year.

The Ceist Award went to Sarah Fletcher. The Bank of Ireland Leaving Certificate Student of the Year went to Jane Corbett, a very worthy recipient and chosen by her peers for her commitment to her work and her friendship to all in her year. Bank of Ireland representative Alan Newell presented the award to Jane.

Our new Prefects for the school year 2018/19 were also announced and presented with their badge of office. TYs Maria Colohan and Laura Frehill announced the launch of the school magazine 'ECHOES'. Huge thanks to all the TYs on the Echoes magazine committee and to Ms Lohan for the production of this wonderful magazine.

We want to wish our Junior Certificate, Leaving Certificate and LCA students the very best in the state exams in June. We wish all our students and staff a happy, safe and restful summer.